

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 18, 2024 www.sde.idaho.gov Media Contact: Maggie T. Reynolds Public Information Officer 208-332-6976 mreynolds@sde.idaho.gov

31 Districts, Charters in Idaho to Receive Funding for Vape Detectors

(BOISE) – Schools and charters across Idaho will receive funding to install vape detectors in high school bathrooms and locker rooms through the Vape Detector Pilot grant.

The grant is funded by an allocation from the Idaho Millenium Fund and is administered by the Idaho Department of Education. The grant's goal is to both prevent vaping before it starts and to provide staff with an added resource to successfully intervene and assist students vaping in areas equipped with detectors.

"Putting the right tools to address vaping into the hands of our school districts is an important first step in tackling this problem and ensuring the health of our students and educational communities," said Superintendent of Public Instruction Debbie Critchfield. "I hope that schools find this equipment to be an effective new resource in safeguarding the health and well-being of their students."

Of 59 eligible applicants, 31 local education agencies were awarded funding. To receive funding, awardees were asked to provide evidence of a need for vape detectors, including details about their current prevention and intervention efforts, incident reports of vaping in the 2022 - 2023 and 2023 - 2024 school years and a proposed budget for purchasing, installing and any additional costs.

The following LEAs will receive grant funding for vape detectors:

- American Falls School District
- Bear Lake School District
- Blackfoot School District
- Bliss School District
- Butte County School District
- Cascade School District
- Coeur d'Alene School District
- COSSA Schools

- Emmett Independent School District
- Forest Bird Charter School
- Hagerman Joint School District
- Horseshoe Bend School District
- Kimberly School District
- Kuna School District
- Lake Pend Oreille School District
- Lakeland School District
- Lewiston Independent School District
- Madison School District
- Marsing School District
- Middleton School District
- Minidoka County School District
- Moscow School District
- Mountain Home School District
- Murtaugh Joint School District
- Parma School District
- Pocatello Chubbuck Joint School District
- Preston Joint School District
- Shelley Joint School District
- Soda Springs Joint School District
- Teton School District
- Twin Falls School District

###