

## **October 21st at 4:00 PM MST**

SDE will be hosting an optional Instructor Training on the new ITD Safety Dashboards. These are a publicly available online resource showing Idaho crash trends and data. The dashboards contains a series of dynamic charts, graphs, and map that allow the users to apply their own filters for customizable searches. They will make a great activity and resource for your driver education classes. This training will be presented by the Numetric team who created these dashboards. Please join us on October 21st for a tutorial and tips for using with your students. This training and short assignment will count towards 2 hours of professional development for 2021. Email Emily at ekormylo@sde.idaho.gov to sign up.



## **Next NNU class begins on January 18th**



Many districts are struggling to meet the high demand for driver education classes and instructors right now. Some districts are borrowing neighboring teachers and others are continuing to extend their waiting lists of students. Did you know that the average age of driver ed instructors in our state is 51.8? We need to do a better job recruiting newer teachers to keep the programs alive! One of the requirements to becoming licensed to teach is observation and instruction time with an experienced mentor. If instructors decide to retire then the programs fade away. This happened in 3 districts

last year. It means that students either have to travel further distances to take a class, pay more for private driving schools, or just wait until after they turn 17 when the course is not required. The September NNU Instructor course was canceled due to low enrollment. We really want to have enough instructors signed up for the next class beginning on January 18, 2021. Please encourage teachers in your district to become certified and keep driver education alive in your communities. Together we can all help make Idaho roads safe.

## Notes from the DMV

**Permits—Extra student permit? Lost or missing permit?** The DMV is experiencing a lot of calls about missing driver training permits and would like those inquiries sent to Emily at <u>ekormylo@sde.idaho.gov</u>. Please let her know if you have a permit for a student who has not signed up for your classes. It is fine to keep a permit of a student who has signed up for a future class, however, do not hold on to them for months on end. Also remember, never give a student their permit unless they have successfully passed the driver education class. This includes students over 17 years old who have failed the course. All permits of students who fail must be mailed to the DMV at the following address with a note marked "failed driver ed course": **Idaho Transportation Department; Attn: Driver's License Unit, PO Box 7129, Boise, ID 83707-7129** 

**Dates on the Driver Education Completion Certificates**—There was a misunderstanding about the length of time a student must have their permits before being eligible to take their written and skills test. Please calculate this date using 6 months *not 181 days*. For example, if a student passes the course on 03/10/20 they would be eligible on 09/10/20. Also make sure that the date of completion on the certificate matches what you provide to the DMV on the student sheets. An updated copy of the certificate has been added to our website.

## New PSA from ITD

When you're high your reaction time lags, especially when you drive. Make a plan for a safe ride!

Click on the picture to the right or the following link to show this PSA to your students <u>https://</u> www.youtube.com/watch? v=uH4qOsYjT7w

