

Bus Driver Trainer Check Sheet

Best Practice

1. Valid driver's license of the appropriate class with the appropriate endorsements as required by Idaho Codes 33-1509 and 49-105

YES___NO____

2. Three years of experience as a school bus driver or two years of such driving experience and two years equivalent experience driving vehicles that require a class A or B driver's license

YES___NO____

3. Driving record with no chargeable accidents within the past three years

YES___NO____

4. School bus driver trainers should conduct at least 10 hours of instruction in each 12 months that include at least 6 hours of behind-the-wheel or classroom training, which need not be given in a single session. The remaining 4 hours may include in-service training conducted by the trainer. Documented in training file

YES___NO____

SCOPE OF INSTRUCTION

A school bus driver trainer or instructor may instruct applicants to drive a school bus as provided for in Idaho Code 33-1511.

TERM OF CERTIFICATE

A school bus driver trainer and/or instructor certificate shall be valid for a period of one year. Certification is renewable upon successful completion of the annual training offered by the Idaho State Department of Education. Superintendents may be asked to suspend the use of a specific state certified school bus driver trainer or state certified instructor for instructional purposes when the trainer and/or instructor:

- Has failed to contribute or participate in annual school bus driver trainer/instructor workshops offered by the State Department of Education without sufficient cause.
- Has failed to conduct at least 10 hours of instruction each 12 months.
- Has falsified a district or Department of Education Training Record.

Resource: Idaho code 33-1511 and SDE behind the Wheel Curriculum 2012