Idaho Charter Schools

In 1998 Idaho's legislature passed the Idaho Charter School Law. Since the law was passed a total of 57 charter schools have opened and eight of the schools have closed. As of the 2014-2015 school year, there are eight virtual charter schools, some with a blended model of online and onsite capabilities. There are 41 "brick and mortar" charter schools in operation.

The following is a listing of charter schools alphabetically or by region. Included in the listing is the school contact information, grades served, method or focus of the school, and opening date.


button Closed Schools
DaVinci Charter School
Opened 2006
Closed 2013
Reason for closure: Financial management
OWL Charter Academy - District 131
Opened 2010
Closed 2011
Reason for closure: financial management concerns
Nampa Classical Charter School - District 131
Opened 2008
Closed 2010
Reason for closure: financial management concerns
Lost River Charter School - District 111
Opened 1999
Closed 2001
Reason for closure: District closed - failure to follow charter
Renaissance Charter School - District 281
Opened 1999
Closed 2004
Reason for closure: Charter not renewed - failure to follow charter; financial management concerns
Idaho Leadership Academy - District 52
Opened 2002
Closed 2008
Reason for closure: Low enrollment; financial problems related to enrollment
Hidden Springs Charter School - District 001
Opened 2001
Closed 2009
Reason for closure: Low enrollment; financial problems related to enrollment

View By Region

A

Academy at Roosevelt Center – LEA #460
Joel Lovstedt, Administrator
joel.lovstedt@academycharter.net
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2006
Harbor Method
240 East Maple
Pocatello, ID 83201
232-1447
www.theacademyarc.com


Anser Charter School – Boise SD #1
Suzanne Gregg, Educational Director
sgregg@ansercharterschool.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 1999
Expeditionary Learning, Outward Bound
202 E 42nd Street
Garden City, ID 837014
426-9840
www.ansercharterschool.org


American Heritage Charter School - LEA# 482
Tiffnee Hurst, Vice-Principal
hurstt@ahcspatriots.us
Gayle Desmet, Head Administrator
Gayle.desmet@gmail.com
Grades: K-9
Core Knowledge
1736 South 35th West
Idaho Falls, ID 83402
208-529-6570
americanheritagecharterschool.com


Another Choice Virtual Charter School – LEA #476
Grades: K-12 / Online Education
Kelsey Williams, Principal
kwilliams@anotherchoicecharter.org
1014 W. Hemingway Boulevard
Nampa, ID 83651
475-4255
www.anotherchoicecharter.org


ARTEC Charter School – Minidoka SD #331
Michael Gibson, Director
mike.gibson@q.com
Claire Major, Principal
cmajor@csi.edu
961-0304
Grades: 7-12 / Opened 2006
Professional Technical

Michael Gibson, Director
mike.gibson@q.com
734-7762
1070 Elkhorn Circle
Twin Falls, ID 83301
www.arteccharterschool.com

B

Bingham Academy – Blackfoot, ID – LEA #485
Grades: 9-10 initially
STEM, College/Career Ready focus
1350 Parkway Drive #18
Blackfoot, ID 83221
Doug Owen, Principal
dowen@bingham.academy
208-557-4003
http://binghamacademy.com/

Blackfoot Charter Community Learning Center – LEA #477
Fred Ball, Administrator
fball@bcclc.com
Jonathan Braak, Vice-Principal
jbraak@bcclc.com
Grades: K-5 / Opened 2000
Brain-based Research
2801 Hunter’s Loop
Blackfoot, ID 83221
782-0744
www.bcclc.com

C

Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy – LEA #483
Joel F. Weaver, Director
joel.weaver@cteacademy.org
Cyd Crue, Director
cyd.crue@cteacademy.org
Grades: K-6 / Opened 2013
Dual Language and Culture - Shoshone Bannock, English
38 South Hiline Road, P. O. Box 217
Fort Hall, ID 83202
208-237-2710
www.cteacademy.org/


Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy Coeur d’Alene – LEA #491
Daniel Nicklay, Principal
dnicklay@cdacharter.org
Grades: 6-12 / Opened 1999
College Preparatory
4904 N Duncan Drive
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83815
676-1667
www.cdacharter.org


Compass Public Charter School–LEA #455
Elementary school:
Susan Luke, Principal
sluke@compasscharter.org
251 W. Cherry Lane, Meridian, ID 83642
208-855-2802

Secondary school:
Kelly Trudeau, Administrator
ktrudeau@compasscharter.org
1422 Tech Lane, Meridian, ID 83642
208-888-5847

D

E

F

Falcon Ridge Public Charter School–#456
Mark Green, Administrator
mgreen@falconridgecharter.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2005
Harbor Method
278 S Ten Mile Road
Kuna, ID 83634
922-9228
www.falconridgecharter.org


Forrest M. Bird Charter School – LEA #487
Alan Millar, Administrator
alanmillar@forrestbirdcharterschool.org
Grades: 6-12 / Opened 2001
Project-Based Learning
614 South Madison Avenue
Sandpoint, ID 83864
Middle School: 208-255-7771
High School: 208-265-9737
http://forrestbirdcharterschool.org

G

H

Heritage Academy – LEA #479
Christine Ivie, Principal
civie@heritageacademyid.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2011
Schoolwide Enrichment Model
500 South Lincoln
Jerome, ID 83338
208-595-1617
www.heritageacademyid.org


Heritage Community Charter School–LEA #481
Javier Castaneda, Executive Director
jcastaneda@heritagecommunitycharter.com
Grades: K-8 Opened 2011
Dual Language
1803 E. Ustick Ave.
Caldwell, ID 83605
208-453-8070
www.heritagecommunitycharter.com

I

Idaho Arts Charter School – Nampa #131
Jackie Collins, Principal
Jackie.collins@idahoartscharter.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2005
Arts Based, Focused Investigations
1220 5th Street N.
Nampa, ID 83687
463-4324
www.idahoartscharter.org


Idaho College and Career Readiness Academy – LEA # 489
Monti Pittman, Administrator
mpittman@k12.com
1965 S. Eagle Road
Suite 150 Meridian 83642 Grades: 9-12
Online Education
Opened: 2014


Idaho Connects Online School (ICON) – LEA #469
Vickie McCullough, Administrator
vickie.mccullough@iconschool.org
Grades: 6-12 / Opened 2009
Online Education
1st 6th Street North
Nampa, ID 83687
208-287-3668
http://iconschool.org/


Idaho Distance Education Academy (I-DEA) – LEA# 490
Jason Bransford, Director
jasonbransford@idahoidea.org
Deborah Pence, Secondary Principal
deborahpence@idahoidea.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2004
Distance Education
P.O. Box 338
Deary, ID 83823
877-1513
Physical Address:
606 South Avenue
Deary, ID 83823
www.idahoidea.org


Idaho Science & Technology Charter School – LEA #468
Tami Dortch - Principal
tami.dortch@istcharter.org
Grades: 4-8 / Opened 2009
Science & Technology
21 N. 550 W.
Blackfoot, ID 83221
785-7827
www.idahoscience.com


Idaho Virtual Academy – LEA #452
Kelly Edginton, Head of School
kedginton@k12.com
Amy Chadez, Elementary Principal achadez@k12.com
Jenny Whelan, Middle School Principal jwhelan@k12.com
Scott Miller, High School and Alternative High School Principal smiller@k12.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2002

Online Education

1965 S Eagle Road, Suite 190
Meridian, ID 83642
322-3559
www.k12.com/idva


Inspire Academics – LEA #457
Karen Glassman, Principal
kglassman@connectionseducation.com
208-322-4002 x307
Kenny McAlister, Asst. Principal
kmcalister@connections education.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2005
Online Education
600 N Steelhead Way, Bldg 3, Suite 164
Boise, ID 83702
322-4002
www.connectionsacademy.com/idaho-school/home.aspx


iSucceed Virtual High School – LEA #466
Aaron Ritter, Executive Director
aritter@isucceedvhs.net
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 2008
Online Education
6148 N, Discovery Way, Suite 120
Boise, ID 83713
375-3116
www.isucceedvhs.net

J

K

Kootenai Bridge Academy – LEA #470
Charles Kenna, Program Director
kootenaibridgeacademy@gmail.com
Grades: 11-12 / Opened 2009
Online, Non-Traditional Students
606 River Street
Coeur d' Alene, ID 83814
kootenaibridgeacademy.org
208-930-4515

L

Liberty Charter School – LEA #458
Mark Wachsmuth, Principal
mwachsmuth@libertycharterschool.com
Liberty Administrator
libertycharterschooladmin@gmail.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 1999
Harbor Method
9955 Kris Jensen Lane
Nampa, ID 83686
466-7952
www.libertycharterschool.com


Legacy Charter School – LEA #478
Seth Stallcop, Administrator
admin@legacycharterschool.net
Grades: K-6 / Opened 2011
Harbor Method
4015 S. Legacy Way
Nampa, ID 83686
208-467-0947
www.legacycharterschool.net

M

Meridian Medical Arts Charter High School – Meridian School District #2
Scott Hill, Principal
hill.scott@meridianschools.org
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 2003
Health Science Professions
1789 E Heritage Park Lane
Meridian, ID 83646
855-4075
meridianmedicalartscharter.com/


Meridian Technical Charter High School - Meridian School District #2
Randy Yadon, Principal
Randy.yadon@mtchs.org
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 1999
College Preparatory, Technology
3800 N Locust Grove
Meridian, ID 83646
288-2928
www.mtchs.org


Monticello Montessori School – LEA #474
Erica Kemery, Administrator
Grades: K-6 / Opened 2010
4707 S. Sweetwater Way
Ammon, ID 83406
419-0742
http://www.sites.google.com/site/monticellomontessori/home


Moscow Charter School – Moscow School District #281
Tony Bonuccelli, Principal
tonyb@moscowcharterschool.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 1999
STEAM – Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Math
1723 East F Street Moscow, ID 83843
883-3195
www.moscowcharterschool.org

N

North Idaho STEM Charter Academy – LEA #480
Scott Thomson, Administrator
sthomson@northidahostem.org
PO Box 434
Rathdrum, Idaho 83858
Address: 15633 N. Meyer Road
Phone: 208-687-8002
K-9 / Opened 2012
STEM Education
Science/Technology/Grades K-8
www.northidahostem.org


North Star Charter School – LEA #493
Melissa Andersen, Secondary Administrator
mandersen@northstarcharter.org
Shay Davis, Elementary Administrator
sdavis@northstarcharter.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2003
Harbor Method, International Baccalaureate
839 N Linder Road
Eagle, ID 83616
939-9600
www.northstarcharter.org


North Valley Academy – LEA #465
Gayle Desmet, Head Administrator
desmetg@nvapatriots.us
Sherri Johns, Principal
johns@navapatriots.us
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2008
Core Knowledge
906 Main Street
Gooding, ID 83330
934-4567
www.northvalleyacademy.com

O

Odyssey Charter School - LEA #484
Grades: 6-10 - 1st year, Opened 2013
Project-based
1235 Jones Street
Idaho Falls, ID
208-557-3627
http://ocsidaho.org/

P

Palouse Prairie School – LEA #472
Jacob Ellsworth, Operational Administrative Director
jellsworth@palouseprairieschool.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2009
Expeditionary Learning, Outward Bound
P.O. Box 9511
Moscow, ID 83843
882-3684
Physical Address:
1500 Levick Street
Moscow, ID 83843
http://palouseprairieschool.org


Pocatello Community Charter School – Pocatello School District #25
Michael Mendive, Administrator
michael.mendive@pccs.k12.id.us
Grades: K-8 / Opened 1999
Expeditionary Learning, Outward Bound
995 S Arthur Street
Pocatello, ID 83204
478-2522
www.pccs.k12.id.us


Payette River Technical Academy – Emmett School District #221
William Knickrehm, Principal
wknickrehm@pr2ta.com
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 2010
Professional/Technical
721 W 12, Suite A
Emmett, ID 83617
365-0985
www.pr2ta.com

Q

R

Richard McKenna Charter High School – LEA #453
Larry Slade, Director
lslade@idvhs.org
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 2002
Online: At-risk students
Brick and Mortar School: 21st Century Skills
675 South Haskett Street
Mountain Home, ID 83647
580-2449
www.rmckenna.org


Rolling Hills Charter School – LEA #454
Shane Pratt, Administrator
spratt@rhpcs.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2005
Harbor Method
8900 Horseshoe Bend Road
Boise, ID 83714
939-5400
http://rhpcs.org/

S

Sage International School of Boise – LEA #475
Don Keller, Charter Administrator
mr.keller@sageinternationalschool.org
Grades: K-11 / Opened 2010
International Baccalaureate

Elementary & Middle School
457 E. Park Center Blvd., Boise ID 83706
208-343-7243

High School (8th to 11th grade)
601 S. 9th Street, Boise, ID 83702
208-995-0300
www.sageinternationalschool.org


SEI Tec Preston School District #201 – Authorizer
Grades: 9-12, Opened 2013
Professional Technical
Rachel Madsen, Principal
rachel.madsen@malad.us
25 East 50 South Suite A Malad, Id 83252
208-766-4701

Business Office:
105 E 2nd S
Preston, ID 83263


Syringa Mountain School – Hailey, ID – LEA# 488
Grades: K-5 initially
Waldorf Inspired Methods
Mary Gervase, Project Director
marymgervase@yahoo.com
http://syringamountainschool.org/

T

Taylor’s Crossing Public Charter School – LEA #461
Daniel Wendt, Principal
dwendt@tceagles.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2006
Harbor Method
1445 N Wood River Drive
Idaho Falls, ID 83401
552-0397
www.tceagles.com


The Village Charter School – LEA #473
Tony Richard, Administrator
tonyrichard@thevillagecharterschool.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2011
219 N. Roosevelt
Boise, ID 83706
336-2000
www.thevillagecharterschool.org


Thomas Jefferson Charter School – Vallivue School District #139
Chuck Ward, Principal
cward.tjcs@vallivue.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2004
Harbor Method
1209 Adam Smith Avenue
Caldwell, ID  83605
455-8772
http://www.tjcs.org/

U

Upper Carmen Public Charter School – LEA #486
Sue Smith, Principal
uppercarmen@yahoo.com
www.uppercarmencharter.com
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2005
Individualized instruction in multi-grade classes
P.O. Box 33
Carmen, ID 83462
756-4590
Physical Address:
508 Carmen Creek Road
Carmen, ID 83462

V

Victory Charter School – LEA #451
Marianne Saunders, Co Principal
msaunders@victorycharterschool.net
Matthew McDaniel, Co Principal
admin@victorycharterschool.net
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2005
Harbor Method
9779 Kris Jensen Lane
Nampa, ID 83686
442-9400
www.victorycharterschool.net


Vision Charter School – LEA #463
Wendy Oldenkamp, Administrator
wendyroldenkamp@msn.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2007
Classical Education
19291 Ward
Caldwell, ID 83605
455-9220
www.visioncharter.net

W

White Pine Charter School – LEA #464
Jeremy Clarke, Principal
clarkeje@whitepinecharterschool.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2003
Core Knowledge
522-4432
2959 John Adams Parkway
Ammon, ID 83406
www.whitepinecharterschool.org

X

Xavier Charter School – LEA #462
Gary Moon, Administrator
gmoon@xaviercharter.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2007
Classical Education, Core Knowledge
1218 North College Road West
Twin Falls, ID 83301
734-3947
www.xaviercharter.org

Y

Z