Idaho Standards for Teacher and Pupil Personnel

Idaho Definition of Effective Teacher

Idaho's effective teachers have the knowledge, skills, and commitments that ensure equitable learning opportunities and growth for all students. They strive to close achievement gaps and to prepare diverse student populations for postsecondary success. They facilitate mastery of content and skill development, and identify and employ appropriate strategies for students who are not achieving mastery. Effective teachers also develop in students the skills, interests and abilities necessary to be lifelong learners, as well as skills needed for democratic and civic participation. They communicate and model high expectations to students and their families and find ways to engage them in a mutually-supportive teaching and learning environment. Because effective teachers understand that the work of ensuring meaningful learning opportunities for all students cannot happen in isolation, they engage in collaboration, continuous reflection, on-going learning and leadership within the profession. (Adapted from the State of Colorado's definition of Effective Teacher)

Idaho Standards for Teacher and Pupil Personnel

As minimum standards for teacher evaluation in all Idaho public schools and districts, the state has adopted the Charlotte Danielson Framework for Teaching Second Edition domains and components of instruction. Danielson explains that in the Framework for Teaching, the complex activity of teaching is divided into 22 components clustered into four domains.

Each component defines a distinct aspect of a domain. In the full Danielson framework, two to five elements describe a specific feature of a component; however, for the purpose of statewide minimum standards, inclusion and use of elements are left to district discretion.

Domain 1 - Planning and Preparation
1a: Demonstrating Knowledge of Content and Pedagogy
1b: Demonstrating Knowledge of Students
1c: Setting Instructional Goals
1d: Demonstrating Knowledge of Resources
1e: Designing Coherent Instruction
1f: Assessing Student Learning

Domain 2 - Learning Environment
2a: Creating an Environment of Respect and Rapport
2b: Establishing a Culture for Learning
2c: Managing Classroom Procedures
2d. Managing Student Behavior
2e: Organizing Physical Space

Domain 3 - Instruction and Use of Assessment
3a: Communicating Clearly and Accurately
3b: Using Questioning and Discussion Techniques
3c: Engaging Students in Learning
3d: Providing Feedback to Students
3e: Demonstrating Flexibility and Responsiveness
3f: Use Assessment to Inform Instruction and Improve Student Achievement

Domain 4 - Professional Responsibilities
4a: Reflecting on Teaching
4b: Maintaining Accurate Records
4c: Communicating with Families
4d: Contributing to the School and District
4e: Growing and Developing Professionally
4f: Showing Professionalism