Teacher of The Year

Idaho Teacher of The Year Program

The Idaho Teacher of the Year Program, which began in 1959, is one of the most prestigious honors in the state for teachers. The program focuses public attention on excellence in teaching that has a real impact on the students of Idaho.

The Idaho Teacher of the Year is chosen from among the districts' nominees by a selection committee representing the state education leaders and lawmakers. Each school district and charter school may nominate one teacher. School districts should submit the nominations to the State Department of Education before the end of the school year.

The Idaho Teacher of the Year also becomes a nominee for the National Teacher of the Year, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers that is sponsored by Scholastic Inc.

2015 Idaho Teacher of the Year: Kim Zeydel

Teacher of The Year


Idaho's 2015 Teacher of the Year, Kim Zeydel, has been an educator for more than two decades, starting her career in California working with at-risk students. Today, she's a math teacher at West Ada's Meridian Academy High School. Mrs. Zeydel is a firm believer in service-oriented activities and started an Honor Society at Meridian Academy where students work with community members suffering from dementia or Alzheimer disease. Kim says she believes teaching is an art form that must be perfected on a daily basis by putting in the time and effort to constantly research and learn new teaching strategies.

Kim has received numerous awards in her years as a teacher including Meridian Academy Teacher of the Year (2008 and 2014), Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (2009), and Idaho State Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching Finalist (2007 and 2009).

As Idaho's Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Zeydel will:

  • Receive $1,000 from the State
  • She will travel across Idaho talking with other teachers, legislators and policymakers about education in our state
  • She will travel to Washington, DC in the spring to meet Teachers of the Year from other states and the President of the United States
  • She will serve as Idaho's nominee for National Teacher of the Year

Congratulations Kim Zeydel!

PDF Icon Teacher of the Year Guidance and Timeline (Applications must be postmarked by August 20, 2015)
Word Icon Teacher of the Year Application Form

The National Teacher of the Year application is the same as the state application form. Applications must be postmarked by August 20, 2015. Please mail, fax or e-mail applications to:

Portia Flynn
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Idaho State Department of Education
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0027
Phone: (208) 332-6815
Fax: (208) 332-6836
E-mail: pflynn@sde.idaho.gov

Past Winners
  • 2014 - Jamie Esler, Lake City High School, Coeur d'Alene
  • 2013 - Katie Pemberton, Canfield Middle School, Coeur d'Alene
  • 2012 - Erin Lenz, Winton Elementary School, Coeur d'Alene
  • 2011 - Stefani Cook, Rigby High School, Rigby
  • 2010 - Kelli Smith, Sacajawea Junior High School, Lewiston
  • 2009 - Robin Sly, Trail Wind Elementary School, Boise
  • 2008 - Carol Scholz, Idaho Arts Charter School, Nampa
  • 2007 - Mike Clabby, Lake City High School, Coeur d'Alene
  • 2006 - Mr. John "Mick" Sharkey, Parma High School, Parma
  • 2005 - Mrs. Paula Conley, Canfield Middle School, Coeur d' Alene
  • 2004 - Mrs. Tina Roehr, Meridian Academy, Meridian
  • 2003 - Mrs. Patti Perry, Skyway Elementary School, Coeur d' Alene
  • PDF Icon View Past Winners