The ISAT Science tests are required in grades 5, 7, 10 - 12. The items directly align to the Idaho Science Content Standards. The items require a student to know science and be able to perform scientific problems at varying degrees of difficulty as they correlate to the standards.

The End-of-Course Science Assessment, which is part of the Comprehensive Assessment Program (IDAPA, requires high school students to take an End-of-Course Assessment in Biology and/or Chemistry. This assessment is provided by the state and administered by the district.

The ISAT Science assessment is composed of items that address standards, goals, and objectives for grades 5 and 7. The goals and objectives for each grade are distributed among five reporting categories: Nature of Science, Physical Science, Biology, Earth and Space Systems, and Personal and Social Perspectives; Technology.

Idaho believes in high standards for all students, including students with disabilities. The overwhelming majority of students with disabilities can take the general assessment with the appropriate accommodations. Idaho uses a portfolio assessment under the IPASS application.

For students with the most significant, cognitive disabilities for whom the general assessment is not appropriate, the administration of the Alternate Assessment based on Alternate Achievement Standards (AA-AAS) may be appropriate with accommodations.

The Special Education and Assessment departments collaborate to inform schools and parents on the educational trends related to standards-based instruction, classroom assessments materials, and accessibility options.

General Questions Related to Special Education

Karren Streagle, Ph.D.
Special Education Assessment
(208) 332-6824


New Science Sample Test link

Idaho Portal

Contact your District Test Coordinator, if you need an account to access the portal.

Resource Files

Content Standards

Frequently Asked Questions

No content available.

Training Resources

No content available.