Idaho Charter Schools

In 1998 Idaho's legislature passed the Idaho Charter School Law. Since the law was passed a total of 54 charter schools have opened and seven of the schools have closed. As of the 2012-2013 school year, there are seven virtual charter schools, some with a blended model of online and onsite capabilities. There are 40 "brick and mortar" charter schools in operation.

The following is a listing of charter schools alphabetically or by region. Included in the listing is the school contact information, grades served, method or focus of the school, and opening date.


button Closed Schools
DaVinci Charter School
Opened 2006
Closed 2013
Reason for closure: Financial management
OWL Charter Academy - District 131
Opened 2010
Closed 2011
Reason for closure: financial management concerns
Nampa Classical Charter School - District 131
Opened 2008
Closed 2010
Reason for closure: financial management concerns
Lost River Charter School - District 111
Opened 1999
Closed 2001
Reason for closure: District closed - failure to follow charter
Renaissance Charter School - District 281
Opened 1999
Closed 2004
Reason for closure: Charter not renewed - failure to follow charter; financial management concerns
Idaho Leadership Academy - District 52
Opened 2002
Closed 2008
Reason for closure: Low enrollment; financial problems related to enrollment
Hidden Springs Charter School - District 001
Opened 2001
Closed 2009
Reason for closure: Low enrollment; financial problems related to enrollment

View By Region

A

Academy at Roosevelt Center – LEA #460
Joel Lovstedt, Administrator
joel.lovstedt@academycharter.net
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2006
Harbor Method
240 East Maple
Pocatello, ID 83201
232-1447
www.theacademyarc.com


Anser Charter School – Boise SD #1
Suzanne Gregg, Educational Director
sgregg@anser-charter-school.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 1999
Expeditionary Learning, Outward Bound
202 E 42nd Street
Garden City, ID 837014
426-9840
www.ansercharterschool.org


American Heritage Charter School - LEA# 482
Tiffnee Hurst, Special Programs Director
hurstt@ahcspatriots.us
Grades: K-8 Opened 2013
Core Knowledge
1736 South 35th West
Idaho Falls, ID 83402
208-529-7560
americanheritagecharterschool.com


Another Choice Virtual Charter School – LEA #476
Grades: K-12 / Online Education
Kelsey Williams, Principal
kwilliams@anotherchoicecharter.org
1014 W. Hemingway Boulevard
Nampa, ID 83651
475-4255
www.anotherchoicecharter.org


ARTEC Charter School – Minidoka SD #331
Michael Gibson, Director
mike.gibson@q.com
Claire Major, Principal
cmajor@csi.edu
961-0304
Grades: 7-12 / Opened 2006
Professional Technical

Michael Gibson, Director
mike.gibson@q.com
734-7762
1070 Elkhorn Circle
Twin Falls, ID 83301
www.arteccharterschool.com

B

Blackfoot Charter Community Learning Center – LEA #477
Fred Ball, Administrator
fball@bcclc.com
Grades: K-6 / Opened 2000
Brain-based Research
2801 Hunter’s Loop
Blackfoot, ID 83221
782-0744
www.bcclc.com

C

Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy – LEA #483
Joel F. Weaver, Director
joel.weaver@cteacademy.org
Cyd Crue, Director
cyd.crue@cteacademy.org
Grades: K-8 Opened 2013 Dual Language and Culture - Shoshone Bannock, English
38 South Hiline Road, P. O. Box 217
Fort Hall, ID 83202
252-7250
www.cteacademy.org/


Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy Coeur d’Alene School District #271
Daniel Nicklay, Principal
dnicklay@cdacharter.org
Grades: 6-12 / Opened 1999
College Preparatory
4904 N Duncan Drive
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83815
676-1667
www.cdacharter.org


Compass Public Charter School–LEA #455
Kelly Trudeau, Administrator
ktrudeau@compasscharter.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2005
Harbor Method
2511 W Cherry Lane
Meridian, ID 83642
855-2802
www.compasscharter.org

D

E

F

Falcon Ridge Public Charter School–#456
Mark Green, Administrator
mgreen@falconridgecharter.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2005
Harbor Method
278 S Ten Mile Road
Kuna, ID 83634
922-9228
www.falconridgecharter.org


Forrest M. Bird Charter School (Sandpoint Charter School)
Lake Pend Oreille School District #84
Alan Millar, Administrator
alanmillar@sandpointcharter.org
Grades: 6-12 / Opened 2001
Project-Based Learning
614 South Madison Avenue
Sandpoint, ID 83864
255-7771
www.sandpointcharter.org
www.sandpointcharterhighschool.org

G

H

Heritage Academy–LEA #479
Christine Ivie, Principal
civie@heritageacademyid.org
Grades: K-7 Opened 2011
Schoolwide Enrichment Model
500 South Lincoln
Jerome, ID 83338
208-595-1617
www.heritageacademyid.org


Heritage Community Charter School–LEA #481
Javier Castaneda, Executive Director
jcastaneda@heritagecommunitycharter.com
Grades: K-8 Opened 2011
Dual Language
1803 E. Ustick Ave.
Caldwell, ID 83605
208-453-8070
www.heritagecommunitycharter.com

I

Idaho Arts Charter School – Nampa #131
Jackie Collins, Principal
Jackie.collins@idahoartscharter.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2005
Arts Based, Focused Investigations
1220 5th Street N.
Nampa, ID 83687
463-4324
www.idahoartscharter.org


Idaho Connects Online School – LEA #469
Vickie McCullough, Administrator
vickie.mccullough@iconschool.org
Grades: 6-12 / Opened 2009
Online Education
12639 West Explorer Drive, Suite 185
Boise, ID 83713
287-3668
http://iconschool.org/


Idaho Distance Education Academy – White Pine School District #288
Jason Bransford, Director
jasonbransford@idahoidea.org
Deborah Pence, Secondary Principal
deborahpence@idahoidea.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2004
Distance Education
P.O. Box 338
Deary, ID 83823
877-1513
Physical Address:
606 South Avenue
Deary, ID 83823
www.idahoidea.org


Idaho Science & Technology Charter School – LEA #468
Tami Dortch - Principal
tami.dortch@istcharter.org
Grades: 6-8 / Opened 2009
Science & Technology
21 N. 550 W.
Blackfoot, ID 83221
785-7827
www.idahoscience.com


Idaho Virtual Academy – LEA #452
Kelly Edginton, Head of School
kedginton@k12.com
Amy Chadez, Elementary Principal achadez@k12.com
Jenny Whelan, Middle School Principal jwhelan@k12.com
Scott Miller, High School and Alternative High School Principal smiller@k12.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2002

Online Education

1965 S Eagle Road, Suite 190
Meridian, ID 83642
322-3559
www.k12.com/idva


Inspire Academics – LEA #457
Karen Glassman, Principal
kglassman@connectionseducation.com
208-322-4002 x307
Wade Frogley, Asst. Principal
wfrogley@connectionseducation.com
208-322-4002 x311
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2005
Online Education
600 N Steelhead Way, Bldg 3, Suite 164
Boise, ID 83702
322-4002
www.connectionsacademy.com/idaho-school/home.aspx


iSucceed Virtual High School – LEA #466
Aaron Ritter, Executive Director
aritter@isucceedvhs.net
Jim McKenna, Business Manager
jmckenna@isuccedvhs.net
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 2008
Online Education
6148 N, Discovery Way, Suite 120
Boise, ID 83713
375-3116
www.isucceedvhs.net

J

K

Kootenai Bridge Academy – LEA #470
Charles Kenna, Program Director
kootenaibridgeacademy@gmail.com
Grades: 11-12 / Opened 2009
Online, Non-Traditional Students
606 River Street
Coeur d' Alene, ID 83814
kootenaibridgeacademy.org
208-930-4515

L

Liberty Charter School – LEA #458
Mark Wachsmuth, Principal
mwachsmuth@libertycharterschool.com
Liberty Administrator
libertycharterschooladmin@gmail.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 1999
Harbor Method
9955 Kris Jensen Lane
Nampa, ID 83686
466-7952
www.libertycharterschool.com


Legacy Charter School – LEA #478
Seth Stallcop, Administrator
legacyharborschooladm@gmail.com
Grades: K-6 / Opened 2011
Harbor Method
4015 S. Legacy Way
Nampa, ID 83686
208-467-0947
www.legacycharterschool.net

M

Meridian Medical Arts Charter High School – Meridian School District #2
Scott Hill, Principal
hill.scott@meridianschools.org
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 2003
Health Science Professions
1789 E Heritage Park Lane
Meridian, ID 83646
855-4075
meridianmedicalartscharter.com/


Meridian Technical Charter High School - Meridian School District #2
Christian Housel, Principal
christian.housel@mtchs.org
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 1999
College Preparatory, Technology
3800 N Locust Grove
Meridian, ID 83646
288-2928
www.mtchs.org


Monticello Montessori School – LEA #474
Randy Crisler, Administrator
administrator@monticellomontessori.com
Grades: K-6 Opened 2010
4707 S. Sweetwater Way
Ammon, ID 83406
419-0742
http://www.sites.google.com/site/monticellomontessori/home


Moscow Charter School – Moscow School District #281
Tony Bonuccelli, Principal
tonyb@moscowcharterschool.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 1999
STEAM – Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Math
1723 East F Street Moscow, ID 83843
883-3195
www.moscowcharterschool.org

N

North Idaho STEM Charter Academy - LEA #480
Scott Thomson, Administrator
sthomson@northidahostem.org
PO Box 434
Rathdrum, Idaho 83858
Phone: (208)659-7794
K-8 Opened 2012
Science/Technology/Grades K-8
www.northidahostem.org


North Star Charter School – Meridian School District #2
Melissa Andersen, Secondary School Principal
mandersen@northstarcharter.org
Ryan Cantrell, Elementary School Principal
rcantrell@northstarcharter.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2003
Harbor Method, International Baccalaureate
839 N Linder Road
Eagle, ID 83616
939-9600
www.northstarcharter.org


North Valley Academy – LEA #465
Jaron Jensen, Principal
jensenj@nvapatriots.us
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2008
Core Knowledge
906 Main Street
Gooding, ID 83330
934-4567
www.northvalleyacademy.com

O

Odyssey Charter School - LEA #484
Karl Peterson, Administrator
kpeterson@ocharter.org
Grades: 6-10 - 1st year, Opened 2013
Project-based
1235 Jones Street
Idaho Falls, ID
208-557-3627
http://ocsidaho.org/

P

Palouse Prairie School – LEA #472
Jacob Ellsworth, Operational Administrative Director
jellsworth@palouseprairieschool.org
Grades: K-8 / 2009
Expeditionary Learning, Outward Bound
P.O. Box 9511
Moscow, ID 83843
882-3684
Physical Address:
1500 Levick Street
Moscow, ID 83843
http://palouseprairieschool.org


Pocatello Community Charter School – Pocatello School District #25
Michael Mendive, Administrator
michael.mendive@pccs.k12.id.us
Grades: K-8 / Opened 1999
Expeditionary Learning, Outward Bound
995 S Arthur Street
Pocatello, ID 83204
478-2522
www.pccs.k12.id.us


Payette River Technical Academy – Emmett School District #221
William Knickrehm, Principal
wknickrehm@pr2ta.com
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 2010
Professional/Technical
721 W 12, Suite A
Emmett, ID 83617
365-0985
www.pr2ta.com

Q

R

Richard McKenna Charter High School – LEA #453
Larry Slade, Director
lslade@idvhs.org
Grades: 9-12 / Opened 2002
Online, Non-Traditional Students
675 South Haskett Street
Mountain Home, ID 83647
580-2449
www.rmckenna.org


Rolling Hills Charter School – LEA #454
Shane Pratt, Administrator
spratt@rhpcs.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2005
Harbor Method
8900 Horseshoe Bend Road
Boise, ID 83714
939-5400
http://rhpcs.org/

S

Sage International School of Boise – LEA #475
Don Keller, Principal
mr.keller@sageinternationalschool.org
Grades: K-9 / Opened 2010
International Baccalaureate
Primary School: 457 E. Parkcenter Blvd
Middle School: 6-9 601 9th Street South
Boise, ID 83706
343-7243
www.sageinternationalschool.org


SEI Tec Preston School District #201 – Authorizer
Grades: 9-12, Opened 2013
Professional Technical
Rachel Madsen, Principal
rachel.madsen@malad.us
25 East 50 South Suite A Malad, Id 83252
208-766-4701

Business Office:
105 E 2nd S
Preston, ID 83263

T

Taylor’s Crossing Public Charter School – LEA #461
Daniel Wendt, Principal
dwendt@tceagles.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2006
Harbor Method
1445 N Wood River Drive
Idaho Falls, ID 83401
552-0397
www.tceagles.com


The Village Charter School – LEA #473
Tony Richard, Administrator
tonyrichard@thevillagecharterschool.org
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2011
219 N. Roosevelt
Boise, ID 83706
336-2000
www.thevillagecharterschool.org


Thomas Jefferson Charter School – Vallivue School District #139
Chuck Ward, Principal
cward.tjcs@vallivue.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2004
Harbor Method
1209 Adam Smith Avenue
Caldwell, ID  83605
455-8772
http://www.tjcs.org/

U

Upper Carmen Public Charter School – Salmon School District #291
Sue Smith, Principal
uppercarmen@yahoo.com
www.uppercarmencharter.com
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2005
Reading Based
P.O. Box 33
Carmen, ID 83462
756-4590
Physical Address:
508 Carmen Creek Road
Carmen, ID 83462

V

Victory Charter School – LEA #451
Marianne Saunders, Administrator
msaunders@victorycharterschool.net
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2005
Harbor Method
9779 Kris Jensen Lane
Nampa, ID 83686
442-9400
www.victorycharterschool.net


Vision Charter School – LEA #463
Wendy Oldenkamp, Administrator
wendyroldenkamp@msn.com
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2007
Classical Education
19291 Ward
Caldwell, ID 83605
455-9220
www.visioncharter.net

W

White Pine Charter School – LEA #464
Jeremy Clarke, Principal
clarkeje@whitepinecharterschool.org
Melinda Christensen, Assistant Principal
melindachristensen@gmail.com
Grades: K-8 / Opened 2003
Core Knowledge
522-4432
Physical Address:
2959 John Adams Parkway
Ammon, ID 83406
www.whitepinecharterschool.org


Wings Charter Middle School – LEA #467
Kristy Oberg, Administrator
koberg@wingscharter.org
Grades: 6-8 / Opened 2009
Project-Based, Non-Traditional
771 North College Road
Twin Falls, ID 83301
734-2902
http://www.wingscharter.org/

X

Xavier Charter School – LEA #462
Gary Moon, Administrator
gmoon@xaviercharter.org
Grades: K-12 / Opened 2007
Classical Education, Core Knowledge
Core Knowledge
1218 North College Road West
Twin Falls, ID 83301
734-3947
www.xaviercharter.org

Y

Z

Opening in 2014

Bingham Academy – Blackfoot, ID
Grades: 9-10 initially
STEM, College/Career Ready focus
Mailing Address: 17N. 550 West, Blackfoot ID 83221
Doug Owen, Principal
http://binghamacademy.com/

Syringa Mountain School – Hailey, ID
Grades: K-5 initially
Waldorf Inspired Methods
Mary Gervase, Project Director
marymgervase@yahoo.com
http://syringamountainschool.org/

Idaho College and Career Readiness Academy
Monti Pittman, Administrator
mpittman@k12.com
1965 S. Eagle Road
Suite 150 Meridian 83642 Grades: 9-12
Online Education